NY company's ship damaged in Somali pirate attack

By
April 15, 2009 06:08

Somali pirates have attacked and damaged an American ship carrying humanitarian aid, but the ship and crew are safe under Navy escort. A US Central Command spokesman says the Liberty Sun reported being attacked around 11:30 a.m. EDT (1530 GMT) Tuesday. The vessel's owner, Lake Success, New York-based Liberty Maritime Corp., said the pirates fired rocket-propelled grenades and automatic weapons. The ship was en route from Houston to Mombasa, Kenya. The military spokesman, Navy Capt. Jack Hanzlik, said the Liberty Sun has a crew of about 20. He said the USS Bainbridge sailed to the scene and reported on arriving at 5:30 p.m. EDT (2130 GMT) that the pirates had left, and there were no injuries.


Related Content

Palestinian activist Rasmieh Yousef Odeh
February 24, 2018
Palestinian ex-terrorist deported from U.S. invited to speak in Amsterdam

By JTA

Israel Weather
  • 9 - 22
    Beer Sheva
    10 - 19
    Tel Aviv - Yafo
  • 9 - 17
    Jerusalem
    10 - 17
    Haifa
  • 13 - 26
    Elat
    11 - 21
    Tiberias