WATCH: Beyond Hebron, UNESCO recognizes 21 new World Heritage sites

Ancient Iranian city, Japanese island among attractions deemed worthy of protection.

July 11, 2017 13:10

UNESCO adds 21 sites to World Heritage List (credit: REUTERS)

UNESCO adds 21 sites to World Heritage List (credit: REUTERS)

The ancient Iranian city of Yazd, a sacred Japanese island where women are not allowed and Greenland's sub-arctic farming landscape Kujataa were among the 21 sites included in UNESCO's World Heritage List at a session in Krakow.

Other sites located in Poland, Russia, French Polynesia, United Kingdom and Germany where added to the list.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

An ancient Jewish shrine in the West Bank city of Hebron was declared a Palestinian heritage site, prompting Israel to further cut its funding to the United Nations.

UNESCO designated Hebron and the two adjoined shrines at its heart - the Jewish Tomb of the Patriarchs and the Muslim Ibrahimi Mosque - a "Palestinian World Heritage Site in Danger".

Related Content

February 23, 2018
French PM vows to combat 'slow-burn' threat of radical Islam


Israel Weather
  • 10 - 23
    Beer Sheva
    12 - 19
    Tel Aviv - Yafo
  • 9 - 16
    10 - 18
  • 15 - 26
    12 - 21