Central Election Committee publicizes party letters

Election will be conducted as in the past, via slips of paper with a letter or combination of letters representing parties.

December 24, 2012 05:19
3 minute read.
Voting in Israel.

Israeli Ballot (R370). (photo credit: REUTERS)

The Central Election Committee authorized 34 parties’ names and letters on Sunday.

The January 22 election will be conducted as in the past, via slips of paper dropped into ballot boxes, each with a letter or combination of letters representing one of the parties.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

The committee did not allow the party “New Land” to add the words “the front to bring down the rule of wealth” to its name.

Since The Tzipi Livni Party and the Social Justice Party both claimed the letter tzadi, they were each given a second letter. The latter party plans to petition the High Court, saying they requested the letter first and as such deserve it.

The following are the parties and letters, in order of their submission of candidacy to the Central Election Committee.

1) Da’am – Workers’ Party led by Asma Agbaria Zahalke: kuf

2) Strong Israel led by Arieh Eldad and Michael Ben-Ari: nun tzadi

3) Bayit Yehudi led by Naftali Bennett – founded by the National Union and the New National Religious Party: tet bet

4) Yesh Atid led by Yair Lapid: peh heh

5) Am Shalem led by Rabbi Haim Amsalem: tzadi-sofit

6) The Power to Influence directed by Rabbi Amnon Yitzhak: peh zayin

7) Social Justice led by Gad Heren: tzadi kuf

8) The Pirate Party: peh

9) World Covenant for the Liberation of Israel led by Ofer Lipshitz: nun

10) Tradition of our Fathers: heh yud

11) Green Leaf – The Liberal List: kuf nun

12) Progressive Liberal-Democratic: nun kuf

13) One Future – Fighting the New Drug: zayin heh

14) We Are All Friends – Na Nah: peh tzadi-sofit

15) We are Brothers: peh nun

16) Hadash – The Democratic Front for Peace and Equality (The Israeli Communist Party and Public Forums for Arabs and Jews): vav

17) Or led by Yaron Yadan: nun yud

18) Dor Builders of the Land led by Ephraim Lapid: zayin kaf-sofit

19) Meretz – The Israeli Left: mem resh tzadi

20) New Land – led by Eldad Yaniv and Rani Blair: zayin

21) The Likud-Yisrael Beytenu led by Binyamin Netanyahu for Prime Minister: mem het lamed

22) Labor led by Shelly Yacimovich: alef mem tav

23) Hope for Change: heh kuf

24) The Green Party and Youth for a Green Future in Israel: resh kuf

25) Kadima led by Shaul Mofaz: kaf nun-sofit

26) Calcala Party led by Yulia Shamalov-Berkovich: peh yud

27) The United Arab List – The Arab Movement for Renewal – The Arab Democratic Party (UAL-Ta’al): ayin-mem sofit

 28) Shas – The Worldwide Union of Torah-Observant Sephardim: shin samech

29) Balad: dalet

30) The Israelis: yud-kuf

31) The Tzipi Livni Party: tzadi peh

32) United Torah Judaism, Agudath Israel-Degel Hatorah: gimel

33) Netzah: peh kaf-sofit

34) Living with Dignity: heh peh

Related Content

August 31, 2014
Rioting resumes throughout east Jerusalem Saturday night


Israel Weather
  • 19 - 34
    Beer Sheva
    19 - 31
    Tel Aviv - Yafo
  • 20 - 29
    20 - 29
  • 25 - 35
    18 - 33