Concert Review

The IPO's tribute to Israeli music in its subscription concert Nr. 6 was dutifully paid in a first IPO Performance of "Steps in Wonderland" by Ron Yedidya (b. 1960).

May 8, 2007 08:57
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


IPO Violin, David Garrett Conductor, George Pehlivanian Jerusalem ICC May 3 The Israel Philharmonic Orchestra's tribute to Israeli music in its subscription concert Nr. 6 was dutifully paid in a first IPO Performance of "Steps in Wonderland" by Ron Yedidya (b. 1960). The program notes introduce Yedidya as a former child prodigy pianist who eventually switched over to composing for unspecified reasons at the ripe old age of 15. Recognizable in this piece was a considerable talent for colourful orchestration. Obstinate repetition of a melodic theme on the basis of an equally repetitive percussion pattern provided the listener with a mildly amusing local variant of "Bolero." The soloist in Mozart's Violin Concerto Nr. 5 was German-born David Garrett, 23, a student of Itzhak Perlman, substituting for the suddenly indisposed Julian Rachlin. He displayed a pure, appealing, clear sound and well-polished technique. However, his playing was nonchalant and indifferent, not doing justice to the emotional profundity of Mozart's work, especially the Rondo's sombre chromaticism. The concert's highlight was conductor George Pehlivanian's masterful rendition of Shostakovich's Symphony Nr. 8. A gradual building of almost unbearable tension led to a shattering climax, followed finally by a breathtaking and despairing calm. Superb shaping of phrases, impressive contrasts of powerful brass and delicate woodwinds made this performance a rare musical experience.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Sarah Silverman
August 26, 2014
Jewish women take home gold at 2014 Emmys