Israel, Cuba and Ethopia shortlisted for Sakharov prize

October 20, 2010 13:11

BRUSSELS - Israeli NGO 'Breaking the Silence,' Cuban dissident Guillermo Farinas and Ethiopian opposition leader Birtukan Mideksa are the three shortlisted finalists for the European Parliament’s 2010 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought.

The winner will be announced on Thursday by the President of the European Parliament, Jerzy Buzek, following a decision of the Conference of political group leaders.The winner will receive 50,000 euros  and will be invited to participate in the award ceremony on 15 December, in Strasbourg, France.

Related Content

Breaking news
October 22, 2019
Trudeau's Liberals to form Canadian minority government -CBC


Cookie Settings