MKs to discuss 'Yair Lapid Bill' with Israel Press Council

June 16, 2011 19:13


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

The "Yair Lapid Bill" will be brought to a vote by the Israel Press Council after being discussed by the Knesset Constitution Law and Justice Committee, committee chair David Rotem announced on Thursday.

The bill, proposed by MK Ronit Tirosh (Kadima) and MK Carmel Shama-Hacohen (Likud) calls for anyone who runs for Knesset that works in the media to resign from his job at least six months before elections, and is nicknamed the "Yair Lapid Bill," because it came shortly after Lapid, son of the late Shinui leader Yosef (Tommy) Lapid and a popular news anchor and columnist, hinted last summer that he was interested in politics. The committee debated the bill earlier this year.

The Israel Press Council invited Rotem, Tirosh and Shama-Hacohen to the meeting, which is set for July 7. In addition MKs who used to work as journalists, such as Shelli Yacimovich and Daniel Ben-Simon of Labor, Nitzan Horowitz (Meretz), Uri Orbach (Habayit Hayehudi), Anastasia Michaeli (Israel Beiteinu) and Nino Abesadze (Kadima), were invited.

Related Content

Breaking news
August 20, 2018
King of Morocco appoints new minister for economy and finance