New non-permanent members of UN Security Council named

October 12, 2010 19:29

UNITED NATIONS — Germany won a seat on the UN Security Council Tuesday in a heated three-way race, and Portugal claimed the second seat for Western bloc nations on the UN's most powerful body after badly trailing Canada withdrew.

African, Asian and Latin American seats were uncontested so India, South Africa and Colombia easily won on the first ballot in the 192-member General Assembly.Ten of the Security Council's 15 seats are filled by regional groups for two-year stretches, with five elected each year. The other five seats are occupied by the council's veto-wielding permanent members: Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.

Related Content

Breaking news
October 23, 2019
Republicans halt witness testimony in impeachment probe -U.S. lawmaker


Cookie Settings