Israeli Nobel laureates get new appointment

Prof. Avraham Hershko and Prof. Aharon Ciechanover of the Technion get nod to join a prestigious cancer academy.

April 4, 2013 05:02
1 minute read.
PROF. AVRAHAM HERSHKO (left) and Prof. Aharon Ciechanover examine a slide.

Hershko Ciechanover370. (photo credit: Courtesy Technion)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Prof. Avraham Hershko and Prof. Aharon Ciechanover, the two Technion-Israel Institute of Technology researchers who received the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2004, have been chosen to join the Academy of the American Association for Cancer Research, the world’s most important group in biology and medicine.

Also chosen was Prof. Irwin Rose of the University of California, who shared the Nobel with them. The three were recognized by the Nobel Prize Foundation for their discovery of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation in all cells that led to the development of new cancer drugs.

The AACR will inaugurate the first “class” of academy associates, including the three laureates, at its next annual meeting. The academy was established recently to recognize and become familiar with leading scientists who have made significant advances in the struggle against cancer.

The three and other associates – who will eventually grow to 106 members – were chosen through an objective peer-review process on the basis of their achievements, the Technion said on Wednesday.

The number 106 was chosen for the number of years that have passed since the establishment of the AACR.

The AACR said it recognized the three for their “immense contribution” in the field of cancer research.

One of the other associates is Dr. James Watson, who with the late Dr. Francis Crick discovered the double-helix shape of DNA.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

August 31, 2014
Weizmann scientists bring nature back to artificially selected lab mice