Six key nations agree to delay talks on new sanctions against Iran

September 28, 2007 17:30

Six key nations agreed Friday to delay until November a new UN resolution that would toughen sanctions against Iran. A joint statement from the US, Russia, China, Britain, France and Germany said they would finalize the new resolution and bring it to a vote unless reports in November from the chief UN nuclear official and the European Union's foreign policy chief "show a positive outcome of their efforts." French Foreign Minister Bernard Kouchner told reporters after foreign ministers of the six countries met Friday morning that "we have to wait to take into account the two reports."

Related Content

Bushehr nuclear Iranian
August 5, 2014
Iran and the bomb: The future of negotiations