Hebrew University to award President Rivlin with honorary doctorate

Rivlin will be among eleven recipients of honorary doctorates in recognition of their contributions to society.

May 23, 2016 17:13
Reuven Rivlin,

President Reuven Rivlin, February 15, 2016. (photo credit: Mark Neiman/GPO)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


President Reuven Rivlin will be awarded an honorary doctorate and deliver a keynote address at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem’s annual convocation, the university announced on Monday.

The event, set to take place on May 29, will mark the opening of the 79th meeting of the Hebrew University’s International Board of Governors.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

The university said it was awarding Rivlin, a graduate of the university, the doctorate in part for his efforts in support of Israeli university leaders to combat the boycott, divestment and sanctions movement and its objective to delegitimize the State of Israel and its academics.

The university noted the president maintains a “strong and active connection” to his alma mater, inviting the Hebrew University’s Board of Governors to meet with him at the Knesset in his first day in office.

Rivlin will be among 11 recipients of honorary doctorates in recognition of their contributions to society, including American Jewish philanthropist Mortimer B. Zuckerman, and i24 founder Patrick Drahi.

Additional recipients include: Prof. Winslow R. Briggs; Prof. Lorraine Daston; Mr. Miki Gavrielov; Prof. Francesco Iachello; Mr. Joseph Lebovic; Prof. Michael Sherraden; Mr. Stuart Silbert OAM; and the Hon. Mrs. Laura Wolfson Townsley.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

September 22, 2018
PA President Abbas to French leader: 'We can resume negotiations'