UN to elect Security Council members

Tuesday’s election aims to replace Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain, and Venezuela, which will be vacating their seats at the end of 2016.

June 28, 2016 04:04
1 minute read.
UN Security Council

Members of UN Security Council during meeting at UN headquarters in New York , October 14. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


NEW YORK – The United Nations General Assembly will elect five new non-permanent members of the Security Council for the 2017-2018 term on Tuesday.

The council is composed of 15 members.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Five of them – China, France, Russia, the UK and the USA – are permanent and hold veto power. The 10 remaining ones are elected for two-year terms.

Tuesday’s election aims to replace Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain, and Venezuela, which will be vacating their seats at the end of 2016. The rest of the current non-permanent members – Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay – will be replaced at the end of 2017.

Permanent member states vote for the new members by secret ballot. Any of the 193 member states of the United Nations is eligible for a seat and will be chosen if they receive at least two-thirds of the votes.

Sources familiar with the process told The Jerusalem Post that Israel had already submitted its candidacy for the 2018- 2019 term. It is one of the 68 UN member states that have not yet been members of the Security Council.

The Security Council is expected on Wednesday to renew the mandate of the UN’s peacekeeping force in the Golan Heights: the UN Disengagement Observer Force (UNDOF).


UNDOF was established to monitor the cease-fire between Syria and Israel after the 1973 Yom Kippur War.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Finance Minister Moshe Kahlon [L] and Prime Minister Netanyahu at the announcement of the new Govern
November 18, 2018
Report: Kahlon, Bennett agree to dissolve Knesset unless PM meets demands