Friedmann proposes 7-year term limit for court presidents

Currently, presidents hold their positions until they reach the mandatory retirement age of 70.

March 7, 2007 21:36
1 minute read.
Friedmann proposes 7-year term limit for court presidents

friedmann 298.88. (photo credit: Channel 10)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Justice Minister Daniel Friedmann released a draft on Wednesday of the first piece of legislation in his program to make sweeping reforms in the court system. According to the bill, all court presidents and deputy presidents would be appointed for a one-time term of seven years. Friedmann emphasized that the change would not apply to the current president and deputy president of the Supreme Court and the National Labor Court. In fact, however, the judges currently holding these positions are due to retire before seven years are up. They are Supreme Court President Dorit Beinisch, Deputy Supreme Court President Eliezer Rivlin and National Labor Court President Steven Adler. The position of Adler's deputy is currently vacant. According to Friedmann, "the bill is one of the initiatives to strengthen the judicial system and to establish rules that will guarantee the independence of the court presidents while they hold the position." Currently, the president and deputy president of the Supreme Court and National Labor Court hold their positions until they reach the mandatory retirement age of 70. There has been a tradition in the Supreme Court since its establishment that the president and the deputy president are automatically chosen according to seniority. The presidents and deputy presidents of lower courts would serve seven-year terms as soon as the Knesset passes the bill. Currently, they are appointed by the justice minister with the consent of the Supreme Court president for a period of four years with a possible one-term extension.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Jisr az-Zarq
April 3, 2014
Residents of Jisr az-Zarqa beckon Israel Trail hikers to enjoy their town