Journalists turned politicians

November 30, 2005 03:03
2 minute read.

  • Yosef Lapid (Shinui): Leaves journalism in 1999. Formerly a reporter for Ma'ariv, the editor of the women's magazine At, the director of the Israeli Broadcasting Authority, the director of Israeli television, a panel member on the television program Popolitica, and an editor and host of the radio program My Week.
  • Foreign Minister Silvan Shalom (Likud): Leaves journalism in 1992. Formerly a business reporter for Yediot Aharonot and a Knesset reporter for Hadashot.
  • Gideon Sa'ar (Likud): Formerly a reporter for Haolam Haze and Hadashot.
  • Yosef Ahimair: Elected as Likud MK in 1992 after working as a reporter for Ma'ariv, Haaretz, Yediot Aharonot and The Jerusalem Post.
  • Yossi Beilin: Joins Knesset in 1988 as member of Labor. Formerly a reporter for Davar (1969-1979).
  • Yossi Sarid (Meretz-Yahad): Leaves journalism in 1974. Formerly an Israel Radio broadcaster.
  • Uri Avneri: Leaves position as editor of Haolam Haze magazine in 1965 to be elected to Knesset together with his colleague Shalom Cohen, co-founder of the political party Haolam Haze - A New Force.
  • Shulamit Aloni: Leaves position as Israel Radio broadcaster in 1965 and elected as Mapai MK.
  • Emil Habibi: Elected to the second Knesset as a member of the Israeli Communist party, and continued to serve as an MK following four subsequent parliamentary elections. Served as the editor of the newspaper Al-Itihad.
  • David Ben-Gurion: One of the founders and editors in 1910 of the newspaper Unity, the mouthpiece of the Poalei Zion movement. Subsequently Israel's first prime minister.

    Related Content

    Jisr az-Zarq
    April 3, 2014
    Residents of Jisr az-Zarqa beckon Israel Trail hikers to enjoy their town