Fifty-nine countries recognize Libyan rebel council

The National Transitional Council declared itself the sole legitimate representative of the Libyan people.

September 1, 2011 13:39
1 minute read.
Libyan rebels hunt Gaddafi

Libyan rebels hunt Gaddafi 311. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Russia recognised Libya's ruling interim council as the country's legitimate authority on Thursday,
shortly before a conference in Paris on Libya's postwar reconstruction.    
Fifty-nine countries, listed below, have now recognized Libya's National Transitional Council:   
Albania, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Benin, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada,   Cape Verde, Chad, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Germany, Greece, Guinea, Hungary, Iraq, Italy, Ivory Coast, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, Senegal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States.     
The African Union called on Aug. 26 for the formation of an inclusive transitional government in Libya, saying it could not recognize the rebels as sole legitimate representatives of the nation while fighting continued.   

The stand was at odds with that of AU members who have announced their recognition of the NTC.   

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Algeria will recognize Libya's new leaders when they establish a representative government, Algeria's foreign minister said in an interview on Thursday.   

China has not formally recognized the NTC but has said it had "always attached significance to (its) important role".    

The Palestinian Authority has recognized the NTC.   

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

November 12, 2018
Can Saudi Arabia compete as Iran flexes its economic muscles in Iraq?