Lawn Bowls: Saitowitz crowned Israeli champion

October 10, 2007 05:38
1 minute read.

Alan Saitowitz was crowned Israel bowls champion last weekend, beating veteran George Kaminsky 21-18 in the final of the men's singles at the Ramat Gan Bowling Club. Saitowitz lingered behind for most of the game, but showed indomitable courage and matched the superb skill of the more experienced Kaminsky. Saitowitz managed to win the keenly contested game, and when he realized that he had won, he became a whirling dervish, danced a combination of the haka and the hora, surpassed the local high jump record, and performed a Wimbledon backslide that made Nadal look like a beginner. Some 700 people play lawn bowls at eight clubs throughout Israel. The bowling year culminates each year with the determining of the champions of the game in singles, pairs, trips and fours for both men and women. During the course of the season, players compete for the title of each dicipline - singles, trips, pairs and fours. The ultimate winners are crowned champions of Israel. Points are awarded to each individual or team, and these points are amassed so that individuals can be assessed to compete for the top twelve places in the "Masters" competition. The finals of each discipline were played at Ramat Gan, and twelve players of each sex earned the right to play in the singles "masters" competition on the 26 and 27 September at the Ra'anana Bowling Club. In the men's Section the pairs winners were Ariah Ben Dor and R. Stavidski, the trips winners were Ariah Ben Dor and team while George Kaminsky and his team won the fours. In the ladies' section Ruth Gilor won the singles, Naomi Fix and Laureen Harris triumphed in the pairs, the trips winners were T. Kamzel and team while S. Kantor and team won the fours. The "master" bowlers were announced after the finals. The twelve men are: B. Marcus, R. Sher, T.Hadar, C. Silberstein A. Saitowitz, R. Oren, L. Hurwitz, T. Bekier, A. Ben Dor, F. Phillips, G. Kaminsky and H. Takin. The twelve ladies are: R. Gilor, T. Kamzel, Y. Bar-Ner, B. Politinsky, S. Fridman, L. Harris, L. Salto, R. Meirav, N. Goldsmith, D. Linde, I. Grenchel and T. Gavish.

Related Content

dudi sela
August 31, 2014
Sela steamrolled by Dimitrov