Lobos capture AFI championship

February 24, 2010 05:55
1 minute read.
Members of the 2009/10 champion Lobos.

Lobos 311. (photo credit: Courtesy)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The 2009/10 season of the AFI Moshiko Men’s Contact league came to a close with roughly 700 people in attendance to watch the Lobos defeat TJ Cafe/Net 26-19 in the Holyland Bowl.

In a game that got off to a high-flying start, TJ started the scoring early by taking the opening kickoff back for a touchdown. However, Lobos answered on their first play from scrimmage with a TD of their own and, with the conversion, took the lead 7-6.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

The two teams traded scores again to make it 13-13 with a minute left in the first half. On the last play before the break, Lobos was able to score another TD on a diving catch at the front of the endzone to take a 19-13 lead.

A special halftime show featured the induction of the inagural class of the AFI Hall of Fame. The top 20 players from the past 21 years in the leauge were inducted as the 2010 class. The honorees included Uri Chechik, Ron Dermer, Asher Jungreis, Eli Groner, Mike Kashnow, Asher Sondhelm, Danny Gewirtz, Steve Leibowitz, Yonah Mishan, Mordechai Goodman, Aryeh Bauman, Herman Weiss, David Bietler, Yosef Goodman, Leizer Gutfreund, Aryeh Rudman, Yehudah Cohen, Danny Taragin, Aryeh Lichtman and Avigdor Moore.

Back to the action, Lobos came out strong in the second half and put together a quick scoring drive to go on top 26-13.

The Lobo defense buckled down from point on with a strong rush up front and superb play by the secondary. TJ did manage another score late to get within a single touchdown, but it could not manage to tie the game despite a few late chances.

In other lower-tier championship games, Big Blue mauled Hallachic Organ Donor Society to take the Talk’n’Save Cup, Successories defeated Torah Youth Association for the Moshiko Cup, Tivuch Shelley topped Burke Supply in the Terem Bowl, Jerusalem Sports Medicine outlasted Lev Aharon for the Jerusalem Sports Medicine Cup, and WFAN trampled Kfar Zippori for the Yitzhak Fink Medics’ Cup.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

dudi sela
August 31, 2014
Sela steamrolled by Dimitrov