US says five-nation coalition launching Libya strikes

WASHINGTON - A five-country coalition including the United States, France, Britain, Canada and Italy is launching strikes on Libya designed to cripple Muammar Gaddafi's air defenses, the Pentagon said on Saturday.
The air strikes will mainly target air defenses around the Libyan cities of Tripoli and Misrata, the official told reporters on condition of anonymity, in a joint operation called "Odyssey Dawn."
US forces and planes will take part, he said.
Some 25 coalition ships, including three US submarines armed with Tomahawk missiles, and are stationed in the Mediterranean, a military slide showed. Five US surveillance planes are also in the area, it showed.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy