BREAKING NEWS

US Sen. Reid: White House-Congress US debt talks ongoing

WASHINGTON - US Senate Majority LeaderHarry Reid on Saturday delayed a test vote on the Democraticdebt limit increase plan until 1 p.m. EDT Sunday (1700 GMT) togive negotiators more time to work out a deal.

In brief remarks on the Senate floor, Reid, a Democrat,said that negotiations between congressional leaders and theObama administration were ongoing, but that there was "still adistance to go" before a deal might be reached.

The Senate had been scheduled to take a 1 a.m. EDT (0500GMT) test vote on Sunday on the Democratic debt limit plan thatRepublicans said they opposed and could have blocked.

Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy

Read all Tweets >