About Me: Elana Eva Aptowitzer

Elana  (photo credit: )
(photo credit: )
Try one yourself >>> Age: 24 Residence: Ottawa, Canada Married? With children? I've been married for four months to the most wonderful man! Occupation: Communications Consultant, Public Health Agency of Canada Education: MA in Strategic Public Communications, American University Pets: We're people people... Religious affiliation / observance: Jewish / Modern Orthodox Last person / party I voted for:The Conservative Party of Canada My history (100 words max): I was born and raised in Toronto, Canada, with a wonderful family (mother, father, brother and sister). I moved to Montreal, Canada to study when I was 17 years old, and met my husband shortly after. I then moved to Washington, DC to do my Masters and then moved to Ottawa after getting married. My husband and I love to cook, entertain friends and learn new things together! Family history (100 words max): My mother's family is from Tunisia. She immigrated to Canada when she was four years old. My father's family comes from Syria and Egypt (I'm about 80% Sephardic...the food is great :) ). My father was born and raised in France, but moved to Canada after meeting my mother on a vacation to Toronto. My connection with Israel: As a Jew, Israel is always in my heart. I feel a particular warmth, comfort and joy when I'm there Defining moment: Every day has its own Daily routine: 7:00am - wake up, shower and eat 8:00am - drive my husband to work and drive myself to work 9:00am - 12:00pm meetings, media briefings, read news articles for my job 12:15pm - lunch 12:30pm - 4:30pm - writing news releases, communications plans, answering emails and teleconferencing 4:30pm - leave work and grocery shop or cook dinner at home 6:30pm - pick up husband from work 7:30pm - eat dinner 8:30pm - watch tv with husband or go out for a long evening walk 10:00pm - read on the couch with husband 11:00pm - go to bed On Friday night... My husbad and I often get invited by members of the community (everyone wants to invite the 'chasson and kallah'), or we invite members of Ottawa's Jewish community to our home. We do all the brachot, and have a really beautiful and plentiful meal, followed by lots of talking and laughter. It's the best part of the week Last book I read was: The second Harry Potter book. I'm just recently getting into them Comfort food: Pasta, Rice, Cheese, sushi and garlic potatoes My mentor: Don't really have one, although my husband and I rely on each other for a lot of advice 3 wishes: I wish with all my heart that Israel could live in peace forever. I also wish that my hopes and dreams for a wonderful and strong family work out exactly as I see in my mind. And I wish to travel to many of the world's most amazing countries with my children. I love traveling. Happiness: 1-10 (10 being the happiest) 9 Try one yourself >>> Meet IDF combat soldier Nicole and all 'About Me' participants