About me: Jess Singer

jess about me (photo credit: )
jess about me
(photo credit: )
TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Age: 27 Residence: Toronto, Canada Married? With children? Nope, not yet Occupation: Casting Assistant Education: BFA, in Theatre Technical Production, high school...etc, 8 months seminary in Israel Pets: Dog; Lilly the Beagle Religious affiliation / observance: Trying Last person / party I voted for: New Democratic Party Ontario Provincials Next person / party I will vote for: Hillary or another Woman My history (100 words max): Moved around a lot, parents are hippies with many narrow perspectives on upbringing. strict but lenient. mixed messages created my independent frame of mind. Don't believe in hypocrisy at ALL. Just trying to find a place to be at peace with those around me and myself. Try not to be so hard on myself. we are all trying Family history (100 words max): Traditional Cultural Jews from Eastern Europe/Russia/Poland. Fortunately moved to N. America pre-WWII, and made life in New Jersey/New york on Dad's side. Mom's family 2nd or 3rd generation cultural jews in small Canadian communities. Founded strong routes in Ottawa and London, Ontario. Family spread out, not religious but strong internally about Jewish priorities. (ie-eats bacon and gives to JNF) My connection with Israel: Israel = home, lessons, past, love, hate, hope, structure, humble reminders, martyrdom & freedom What I would take with me to a deserted island: My radio station, my guy, some dogs, farm animals, seeds, lifetime supply of beer, bread,cheese, filtered water, Italian tiramisu, connection to the internet, hammock, comfy sweat pants, a stereo, some personal books, a phone for some lonely times, paper & fountain pens If I could have dinner with any person in the world it would be: Rabbi Akiva is up there on my list, so is Jesus Which feminine/masculine trait would I like to have: logic & finance skills (not really masculine or feminine though) What angers you: Judging and gossiping and being frontally nice when you don't care about someone. Not telling people the reality to their face! and PASSIVE AGGRESSIVE PEOPLE!!!! What makes you happy: Sleeping in, eating heartily with people I care about and who care about me. Sharing in a really good joke. helping people solve riddles that they can't solve alone. enjoying a great piece of artistic talent. hearing great news. recovery Last book I read was: Amazing graphic novel "shortcomings" Comfort food: Pasta w/ any kind of cream sauce, nice cup of fresh coffee My life five years from now: Owning a nice piece of land somewhere peaceful and close to the water but close to the city. Being able to travel freely and sharing more moments with those I love. Creating my own work & leisure schedule-giving back & sharing You may not like it but I have something controversial to say: The Jewish Frum Communities need to clean up shop - meaning just easing up on the tensed up judgment of others & the stupid preaching of holier than thou. Invite more people in. Stop shutting them out because they don't dress like you,say the 'right things', or have differentiating opinions. Start Communicating & stop blaming. It starts at home Happiness: 1-10 (10 being the happiest) 8 Click here to leave a message for Jess TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Meet all 'About Me' participants