Ballots open for municipal elections

The ballots for municipal elections in 159 municipalities opened at 7:00 a.m. Tuesday and will remain open until 10:00 p.m. In some of the smaller municipalities, ballots will close at 8:00 p.m. 4,734,507 voters will be able to change the future of their streets, neighborhoods and local services such as sewage, public transport, cultural centers and housing in 7,712 ballot boxes, voting for a total of 600 hundred candidates throughout the country. Voting will be conducted by via two notes - a yellow note for the council members and a white note for mayor. The Jerusalem Post calls on all Israelis eligible to vote to exercise their democratic right and vote for their chosen candidates.