PM: Gov't to pick 1 of 4 A-G candidates

PM No new search for A-

The government will choose the next attorney-general from the four candidates suggested by the majority of members in a public search committee which disbanded Thursday, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu has decided Friday. The attorney-general will be either attorney Zvi Agmon, Prof. Daphna Barak-Erez, attorney Yehuda Weinstein or Prof. Yediya Stern. Deliberations will be held in the next few weeks. The committee informed the prime minister and the minister of justice on Thursday that it was returning its mandate and ceasing to function after it failed to reach an agreement on the identity of the candidates. Justice Minister Yaakov Neeman had instructed the committee to nominate three candidates for the post. By a vote of four to one, the committee agreed to publish the fact that three of the five members had proposed the four aforementioned nominees. The bloc of three also suggested that the other two members of the committee choose any three of the four proposed by them. The bloc of three included committee chairman, retired Supreme Court Justice Theodore Or, attorney Eyal Rozovksy and Prof. Eyal Benvenisti. While the minority members, former Justice Minister Moshe Nissim and MK Yariv Levine, had pushed for Weinstein to be nominated, they insisted that the committee also propose Jerusalem District Court Judge Noam Sohlberg.