Israel Sinfonietta, Concert No. 6, Beersheba Arts Center, March 20.

March 23, 2010 17:48
1 minute read.
concert 88

concert 88. (photo credit: )


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

This week the Israel Sinfonietta, under musical director Doron Solomon, presented a charming version of Saint-Saens’s classic Carnival of the Animals. Guest artists included the Israeli piano duo of Sivan Silver and Gil Garburg, along with narrator Edo Mosseri, who read and acted out Yaron London’s Hebrew text with a brilliant sense of timing, articulation of words, voice coloring, and histrionic gestures.

Silver-Garburg also performed an elegantly styled version of Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos in E-flat Major, K.365, and encored with a piano four-hands version of Mendelssohn’s scherzo from A Midsummer Night’s Dream. What impresses in their playing was their technical facility, immaculate preparation, and clear articulation – every nuance was thought  out. They played the entire program from memory, without a hitch.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

It’s not often one hears the complete Le Tombreau de Couperin by Maurice Ravel in an orchestral version. Ravel orchestrated movements 1, 3, 4 and 5 of this piano suite. This evening, however, we heard two new additions – movements 2, and 6 – in orchestrations by Gil Shohat. They blended right into the original, and promise to become a standard version for future presentations of the work.

Related Content

Sarah Silverman
August 26, 2014
Jewish women take home gold at 2014 Emmys