Dead Sea selected as finalist in New 7 Wonders of Nature competition

July 21, 2009 19:54

The Dead Sea has been selected as one of the 28 finalists in the New 7 Wonders of Nature online competition, the Tourism Ministry said in a statement issued on Tuesday. Tourism Minister Stas Misezhnikov announced that, in the next 2 years, the ministry will lead the campaign for the Dead Sea to be selected as one of the winners in the contest, via its 14 representative offices around the world, its websites in 11 languages and focused marketing activities. The lowest place on Earth will compete through 2011 for the hearts and votes of over a billion people from around the world, against 27 other sites including, among others, the River Amazon, the Galapagos Islands, the Grand Canyon and the Maldives. The complete list of finalists can be found at

Related Content

Breaking news
August 20, 2019
Jeffery Epstein signed his will two days before he was found dead


Cookie Settings