Libyan wins post of UN General Assembly president

June 11, 2009 00:29


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The next president of the UN General Assembly will be a Libyan politician in charge of the nation's dealings with the Africa Union. Ali Abdessalam Treki, Libya's minister for AU affairs, won election by acclamation rather than a vote Wednesday in the General Assembly, the world's forum for debate among 192 member nations. The one-year post rotates among nations on a regional basis. Treki will assume the job when the assembly convenes in mid-September for its annual high-level ministerial debate attended by heads of state. He will replace Miguel d'Escoto Brockmann, a Roman Catholic priest and former Nicaraguan foreign minister in the 1980s during the rule of the Sandinistas.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Breaking news
September 20, 2018
Trump to hold meeting with Netanyahu, other leaders at UN General Assembly