Six incoming MK's must renounce foreign citizenship

January 26, 2013 18:33


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Six incoming Members of Knesset must renounce their second foreign citizenship in order to sit in the Israeli parliament.

Bayit Yehudi leader Naftali Bennett and Dov Lipman, of Yesh Atid, have to give up their American citizenship, whilst Likud member Moshe Feiglin must renounce his Australian passport. 

The same applies for Labor's Miki Rosenthal, who holds German citizenship, and Yesh Atid's Karin Elharar, who holds French citizenship. Labor's Michal Biran also has to renounce his Lithuanian citizenship.

Yoni Shetboun of Bayit Yehudi must cancel his application for French citizenship.

Related Content

Breaking news
July 17, 2018
A group of men attack German Jew wearing Israeli pin and kippa