Name that planet: Uranus, Neptune to get Hebrew names

Name that planet Uranus

October 21, 2009 02:42
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

The planets Uranus and Neptune have been waiting billions of years for official Hebrew names (or at least a few thousand years, since Hebrew began) and now - in honor of UNESCO's International Year of Astronomy - Israelis have an opportunity to vote for their preferences. The vote by Internet is being organized by the Hebrew Language Academy and will end on Monday, November 30. Those who want to vote can go to the Hebrew-language Web site and choose two of the four finalist names selected from 650 proposed names. Senior astronomy researchers and academy linguists sifted through the suggestions and came up with Oron (small light) and Shahak (skies) for Uranus, and Rahav (the ruler of the seas) or Tarshish (the name for sea in Jewish literature) for Neptune. Pluto, by the way, also remains nameless in Hebrew, but in recent years, it has been downgraded from a planet to a less-important celestial body. The winners will be announced at a ceremony in December marking the end of the International Year of Astronomy. Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn have been known by mankind since the beginning and were therefore given the names of Greek and Roman gods. They are named Hama (or Kochav), Noga, Ma'adim, Tzedek and Shabtai, respectively. Earth is Eretz. Uranus and Neptune were sighted after the invention of the telescope, and now their turn for a Hebrew name has come. Voters need only give their own names in Hebrew and their identity card numbers, as well as type in a random code presented in large characters to prevent mass automatic voting.

Related Content

[illustrative photo]
September 24, 2011
Diabetes may significantly increase risk of dementia