Three Americans awarded Nobel Prize in physics

Nearly $1.5 million prize to be split among US scientists for discovery that universe expansion is accelerating.

October 4, 2011 14:57
1 minute read.
Physics Nobel announced

nobelphysics 311 R. (photo credit: REUTERS/Leif R Jansson)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

STOCKHOLM - Three scientists shared the 2011 Nobel Prize for physics for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the universe through observations of exploding stars, the prize committee said on Tuesday.

One half of the 10 million Swedish crowns ($1.45 million) went to US citizen Saul Perlmutter and the other half to US-Australian citizen Brian Schmidt and US scientist Adam Riess.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Nobel medicine prize honors work on body's defenses
Nobel Peace Prize may recognize Arab Spring

"They have studied several dozen exploding stars, called supernovae, and discovered that the universe is expanding at an ever-accelerating rate," said the Nobel Committee for Physics at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which awards the prize. 

For almost a century, the Universe has been known to be expanding as a consequence of the Big Bang about 14 billion years ago. However, the discovery that this expansion is accelerating is astounding, said the committee, noting if the expansion continues to speed up, the Universe will end frozen, the prize committee said.

"The discovery came as a complete surprise, even to the laureates themselves," the committee added in a statement. 

The Nobel Prize in Physics, awarded for both pioneering discoveries and groundbreaking inventions in recent years, has been awarded 105 times since 1901.

Yesterday, the Nobel Prize in Medicine was awarded to American Bruce Beutler,  French biologist Jules Hoffmann and the Canadian-born Ralph Steinman, who died last Friday.

Related Content

August 31, 2014
Weizmann scientists bring nature back to artificially selected lab mice