Navigating the US electoral college terrain: When do the polls close?

To help readers get a sense of when they can expect results, The Jerusalem Post has posted a time-line to help navigate the electoral terrain.

November 9, 2016 01:44
1 minute read.
COLORADO RESIDENTS vote in the US midterm elections last week

COLORADO RESIDENTS vote in the US midterm elections. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Voting for the United States Presidential Election is underway, with polls expected to close in the coming hours.

To help readers get a sense of when they can expect results, The Jerusalem Post has posted a time-line to help navigate the electoral terrain.

7pm (Eastern Time): Georgia, Indiana, half of Kentucky, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Vermount, Virginia and perhaps most importantly Florida.

7:30pm (Eastern Time): North Carolina, Ohio and West Virginia

8pm (Eastern Time):  Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, the western panhandle of Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, most of Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, most of North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, the eastern half of South Dakota, Tennessee, most of Texas.

292 Electoral College votes with be assigned following the 8 o'clock hour.

9pm (Eastern Time): New York, Minnesota, the western half of South Dakota, Nebraska, the southwestern corner of North Dakota, the northwestern corner of Michigan, Colorado, Louisiana, New Mexico, Texas, Arizona, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Arkansas.

10pm (Eastern Time): Iowa, most of Idaho, Utah, Nevada, Montana

11pm (Eastern Time): California, the northern tip of Idaho, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii.

All 535 electoral college votes will be counted shortly after Alaska closes its polls at 12am.

All times reflect information provided by The New York Times.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

July 23, 2019
Boris Johnson to become new UK Prime Minister


Cookie Settings