Concert Review: Wang-Petrenko

March 7, 2018 20:30
Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in Tel Aviv. (photo credit: BECKY BROTHMAN)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

The most recent work in the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra’s concert this week was Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3.

Prokofiev, still considered ultra-modern in the 20th century, not so long ago, sounds today almost classic. Which proves that, although the music obviously does not change, tastes do.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

The work’s soloist, Beijing-born Yuja Wang, is a phenomenal virtuoso. A veritable bombshell of explosive energy, hardly believable from such a frail-looking figure, she also displayed utmost sensitivity and fascinating delicacy in the work’s lyrical, melodious passages. Maturity of expression, at her tender age, in addition to her extraordinary technical abilities, made her performance a breathtaking, outstanding experience.

As a 20-minute curtain raiser, Dukas’ La Péri functioned as a harmless warm-up piece.

Conducted by Kirill Petrenko, Brahms’ Symphony No. 1 sounded excellently rehearsed, accurate and conservative, highlighting many appealing instrumental solo passages. Serious as the performance sounded, in the third movement the conductor concentrated on the un poco allegretto (“a little animated”) indication while ignoring the e grazioso (“and gracefully”). In the final movement, the con brio (“with fire”) indication seemed not to have deserved his attention. On the whole, it was a listener- friendly, not quite exciting performance.

Related Content

August 20, 2018
Israeli talk show suspended for labeling MKs 'terrorists'