Esther Peled wins Sapir Prize

Author beats out two former winners to collect honor.

January 23, 2018 16:58
1 minute read.
The book cover of 'Widely Open Underneath' by Esther Peled

The book cover of 'Widely Open Underneath' by Esther Peled. (photo credit: Courtesy)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Israel’s 2017 Sapir Prize, one of its highest literary honors, was awarded to Esther Peled for her book Widely Open Underneath.

The top prize includes NIS 150,000 and translation of the book into Arabic and into another language of the author’s choosing.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

In accepting the award on Monday night in Tel Aviv, Peled said she didn’t prepare a speech because she never imagined she would win.

“Thank you for this incredibly surprising and joyous thing,” she said. “Thank you to all those who read my book. It was a big shock to see when it joined the bestseller lists.”

Peled beat out the four other authors on the shortlist, including two who have won the prize in the past and one who was nominated four times. The other nominees were Shimon Adaf’s Tolle Lege, Sami Berdugo’s Because Guy, Amir Ziv’s Four Fathers and Noa Yedlin’s Stockholm.

In 2012, Adaf won the Hebrew literature prize for his novel Mox Nox, and in 2013 Yedlin won for House Arrest. This was Berdugo’s fourth nomination and the fourth time he left empty-handed. Every author on the shortlist received NIS 40,000.

“With an extraordinary combination of humor, wisdom and courage, Esther Peled challenges the narrative of the initiation processes of young women,” the judges wrote about her win. “The experience of encountering the other and experiencing loneliness are examined in a fresh and innovative way.”

Related Content

Youth hold their prayer shawls as they stand in front of the Western Wall, May 17, 2017.
July 23, 2018
WATCH: Stone falls out of Western Wall above egalitarian prayer platform