Wolf Prize to be awarded to eight laureates from US, UK and Switzerland

This year, the five $100,000 prizes will be awarded to eight winners for their exceptional work in the fields of chemistry, mathematics, physics, medicine, and the arts.

January 3, 2017 19:37
1 minute read.
Laurie Anderson

Laurie Anderson. (photo credit: Courtesy)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Winners of the prestigious Wolf Prize were announced on Tuesday and include eight laureates from three countries – the United States, United Kingdom and Switzerland.

The winners were announced in a ceremony at the Land of Israel Museum in Tel Aviv in the presence of Education Minister Naftali Bennett, who chairs the Wolf Foundation; Prof. Dan Shechtman, chairman of the Wolf Foundation Council and a former prize winner; and Dr.

Liat Ben-David, executive director of the foundation.

The world-renowned prize is awarded annually to a number of laureates in the sciences and arts, and is considered second in importance to the Nobel.

This year, the five $100,000 prizes will be awarded to eight winners for their exceptional work in the fields of chemistry, mathematics, physics, medicine and the arts.

In chemistry, the prize will be awarded to Prof. Robert Bergman from the University of California-Berkeley for his discovery of the activation responses of carbon-hydrogen bonds in hydrocarbons by soluble organometallic complexes.

The prize in mathematics will be awarded to Prof. Richard Schoen from Stanford University for geometric analysis and the understanding of the interconnectedness of partial differential equations and differential geometry and to Prof. Charles Fefferman from the Princeton University in a number of areas including complex multivariate analysis, partial differential equations and sub-elliptical problems.

The prize in physics will be awarded to Prof. Michel Mayor from the University of Cambridge in the UK and the University of Geneva, and Prof.

Didier Queloz from the University of Geneva for the discovery of an extrasolar planet orbiting around a star similar to the sun.

In medicine, the prize will be awarded to Prof. James Allison from the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center for a revolution in cancer treatment due to the discovery of the immune control barrier.

In the arts, the prize will be awarded to Laurie Anderson and Lawrence Weiner, both from the US, for being “radical avant-garde artists” at the heart of their work and an inspiration to future artists.

The prizes will be awarded to the winners at a state ceremony at the Knesset, attended by President Reuven Rivlin, in June.

The Wolf Foundation began its activities in 1976, with an initial endowment fund of $10 million, donated by the Wolf family.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Ultra-Orthodox Jewish boys dance around a bonfire as they celebrate the Jewish holiday of Lag Ba'Ome
May 22, 2019
Tiberias Haredim place effigy of secular mayor on bonfire