English born Prof. Bodenheimer wins Yakir Yerushalayim award

Prof. Bodenheimer is among the 12 men and women to be honored on Sunday by mayor Moshe Lion.

March 30, 2019 23:21
1 minute read.
English born Prof. Bodenheimer wins Yakir Yerushalayim award

THE JERUSALEM skyline as viewed from the Mount of Olives.. (photo credit: DAN/FLICKR)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Professor Joseph S. Bodenheimer is among the twelve men and women to be honored on Sunday by Jerusalem mayor Moshe Lion with the Yakir Yerushalayim award. 
Born in England, Bodenheimer is a professor of electro-optics and is known for his love of the Talmud, which he gives regular classes in. 
Other honored members include Rabbi Menham Cohen who is the Chief Rabbi of Romania, Holocaust survivor and educator Miriam Indig, Rabbi Meir Bakshai who provides education to disadvantaged youth, and one of the founders of the Biblical Zoo Pinchas Amitai. 
The award on Sunday will also be presented to Educator Yael Lehmen, media advisor Yisrael Katzover, pre-state fighter and educator Rabbi Aharon Hacohen, Rabbi Moshe Yehuda Krappen, Rabbi Yigal Shpern, Murdechai Yonah and Shifra Sapra. 
Sapra is a noted educator who served as a Jewish agency educator in many countries, Yonah is a scholar on Kurdish-Jewish culture, Shpren is noted for his work as a philosopher with interest in medicine and Jewish law and Krappen created the first educational institution in Gival Shaul. 
The Yakir Yerushalayim award is an annual one given to people who are over 70 years of age and have contributed to the capital's culture and education. The award is given on Yom Yerushalayim. 
The award was given to such noted men and women as Kaballa Scholar Gershom Scholem, politician Geulah Cohen and Catholic theologian Marcel-Jacques Dubois.    

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Former PMO Chief of Staff Natan Eshel
April 23, 2019
Female MKs slam Likud for having sexual harasser Eshel on negotiations team