Who are the best science lecturers in Israel?

The winners split a cumulative prize of $100,000,

April 5, 2019 11:06
1 minute read.
2019 Krill prizes winners

2019 Krill prizes winners . (photo credit: DUDI SALEM)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The Israeli NGO Wolf Foundation announced their ten winners for their annual Krill prizes on Wednesday for exceptional nontenured lecturers and senior lecturers in exact sciences, life Sciences, medicine, agriculture and engineering.

“Right before the elections to the Knesset, we see again the importance of investment in Israeli academic research and the enormous potential of the researchers in Israel," CEO of the Wolf Foundation Reut Inon Berman said. "We have so much to be proud of and yet, I hope one day we will see an expression to this subject in the parties’ agenda.”

The lecturers who won the this years award is Amnon Bar-Shir at the Weizmann Institute, Baruch Barzel at Bar-Ilan University, Noga Ron-Zewi at the University of Haifa, Neta Regev-Rudzki at the Weizmann Institute, Ofer Firstenberg at the Weizmann Institute, Shahar Kvatinsky at the Technion Institute of Technology Dafna Shahaf at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Yaron Fuchs at the Technion Institute of Technology, Ori Katz at The Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Malachi Noked at Bar-Ilan University.

The winners split a cumulative prize of $100,000,

“Krill prize laureates are part of a chosen group of young scientists who will lead the direction of the 21th century in the field of science," Chairman of the Krill prize committee Prof. Hagai Netzer said. "The prize, in one hand, reflects their great achievements and in the other hand, puts a great responsibility on their shoulders.”

A lecturer is equivalent to the American rank of assistant professor. 

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Manhunt for Ariel terrorist (IDF SPOKESPERSON'S OFFICE)
April 23, 2019
Israel security forces arrest 16 suspects in terror activities