21 new district court judges chosen

Despite clashing interests and power struggles among its members, Judicial Selection Committee manages to reach agreement.

August 29, 2009 23:37
1 minute read.
21 new district court judges chosen

neeman 248.88. (photo credit: Ariel Jerozolimski)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Despite clashing interests and power struggles among its members, the Judicial Selection Committee managed on Friday to appoint 21 new district court judges throughout the country, promoting 18 magistrate's court judges and naming three lawyers to the bench. The new judges in Tel Aviv District Court include Eitan Orenstein, Meir Yifrah, Yehoshua Gefman, Haim Tobi and Avi Zamir. Until their election on Friday, Orenstein and Zamir were serving on the Tel Aviv District Court as acting judges while Yifrah was an acting judge on the Central District Court. The judges appointed to the Central District Court are Liora Brody, Aharon Makover, Jacob Sheinman, Clara Reginiano and attorney Ofer Groskopf. Brody is currently the deputy president of Rishon Lezion Magistrate's Court. In Jerusalem, attorney Moshe Hacohen, Raphael Carmel and Yigal Mersel were appointed to the Jerusalem District Court. Hacohen has been the Jerusalem district head of the Public Defender's Office. Carmel was serving as an acting judge on the Jerusalem District Court while Mersel is the registrar of the Supreme Court and was until now a magistrate's court judge. Mersel, who has a doctorate in law from Hebrew University, was appointed registrar by former Supreme Court President Aharon Barak and is reportedly close to Supreme Court President Dorit Beinisch. He will continue to hold that post even after his promotion. The committee appointed five new judges to the Beersheba District Court, including Jacob Spasser, Tali Haimovich, Nehama Nezer, Yael Raz-Levi and attorney Mordechai Levy. Spasser has served as deputy president of Beersheba Magistrate's Court since 2008 while Haimovich has been deputy president of the Kiryat Gat Magistrate's Court since 2006. The new Haifa District Court judges include Menahem Raniel, Avraham Elyakim and Bettina Tauber. Raniel has been serving as an acting judge on the Haifa District Court since 2007.

Related Content

Jisr az-Zarq
April 3, 2014
Residents of Jisr az-Zarqa beckon Israel Trail hikers to enjoy their town