Five Jewish authors named finalists for Sami Rohr Prize

The Rohr Prize has been given annually since 2007 and considers works of fiction and nonfiction in alternating years.

October 8, 2013 12:12
A woman searches through books

A woman searches through books 370. (photo credit: Ariel Jerozolimski)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Five authors and their works were named finalists for the 2014 Sami Rohr Prize for Non-Fiction.

The finalists for the $100,000 literary prize were announced Monday by the Jewish Book Council. The winner will be announced in November; the runner-up receives $25,000.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

They are Sarah Bunin Benor, author of “Becoming Frum”; Marni Davis, “Jews and Booze”; Matti Friedman, “The Aleppo Codex”; Nina Spiegel, “Embodying Hebrew Culture”; and Eliyahu Stern, “The Genius.”

The Rohr Prize has been given annually since 2007 and considers works of fiction and nonfiction in alternating years.

It was created by the late businessman and philanthropist Sami Rohr to recognize emerging writers who articulate the Jewish experience as determined by a specific work, as well as the author’s potential to make significant ongoing contributions to Jewish literature.

Francesca Segal won the prize last year for her novel “The Innocents.”

Related Content

Joan Rivers
August 28, 2014
Joan Rivers rushed to hospital following throat surgery