Saul Friedlander wins German Book Trade's 2007 peace prize

Israeli historian cited for giving voice "to the grievances and cries of those human beings who were turned to dust."

October 14, 2007 13:27
1 minute read.
Saul Friedlander wins German Book Trade's 2007 peace prize

saul friedlander 88. (photo credit: )


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Israeli historian Saul Friedlander on Sunday was awarded the top prize at the annual Frankfurt Book Fair in recognition of his narratives documenting the Nazi Holocaust. "Saul Friedlander gave a voice to the grievances and cries of those human beings who were turned to dust - he gave them memory and a name," the German Book Trade association said in awarding Friedlander its 2007 peace prize. "The acknowledgment of human dignity forms the basis for peace among mankind, and Saul Friedlander returned to the murdered millions the dignity of which they had been robbed," it said. Friedlander, a professor at the University of California, Los Angeles, was given the €25,000 peace prize on the final day of the annual book fair in an award ceremony at Frankfurt's St. Paul's Church. Among Friedlander's best-known work is his two-volume collection "The Third Reich and the Jews." The association said Friedlander was chosen for his firsthand approach to Holocaust history. "Friedlander is one of the last historiographers to have witnessed and experienced the Holocaust - a genocide that was announced early on, planned openly and carried out with machinelike precision," the association said. "Friedlander rejects the distanced approach often associated with the writing of history: He creates a space for incomprehensibility - the only possible reaction to such an unfathomable crime." Previous winners of the award include German sociologist Wolf Lepenies in 2006, outspoken Turkish author and Nobel laureate Orhan Pamuk, and former Czech President Vaclav Havel. The prize was first awarded in 1950.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Joan Rivers
August 28, 2014
Joan Rivers rushed to hospital following throat surgery