More than 40 countries recognize Libyan rebel council

The National Transitional Council declared itself the sole legitimate representative of the Libyan people.

August 28, 2011 13:18
1 minute read.
Libyan rebels hunt Gaddafi

Libyan rebels hunt Gaddafi 311. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

More than 40 countries have recognized Libya's National Transitional Council (NTC), set to take power and move to Tripoli after rebels forced veteran leader Muammar Gaddafi to abandon his headquarters in the capital.

The NTC declared itself the sole legitimate representative of the Libyan people on March 5 and appointed Mahmoud Jibril on March 23 to form an interim government.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Here are the countries that have recognized the NTC:

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Benin, Britain, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Chad, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Greece, Iraq, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Niger, Nigeria, Palestinian Authority, Panama, Portugal, Qatar, Senegal, Slovenia, Spain, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States

* China has not formally recognized the NTC, but said on Wednesday it had "always attached significance to (its) important role".

Russian President Dmitry Medvedev said on Wednesday that Moscow might establish formal relations with the rebels if they were able to "unite the country for a new democratic start".

Related Content

Syrian forces of President Bashar Assad are seen on al-Haara hill in Quneitra area, Syria
July 18, 2018
Syrian army pounds city of Nawa, causing casualties, residents say