2013 Israel Prize awarded to 9 laureates in J'lem

Education Minister Piron calls on gov't to allocate appropriate resources in order to develop and maintain Israel’s human capital.

April 17, 2013 03:22
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Israel Prizes for 2013 were awarded in an official ceremony held in Jerusalem on Tuesday, as the country marked its 65th Independence Day.

The ceremony took place in the presence of President Shimon Peres, Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu, Knesset Speaker MK Yuli Edelstein, Supreme Court President Justice Asher D. Grunis, Jerusalem Mayor Nir Barkat and Education Minister Shai Piron.

As he addressed the audience, Piron called on the government to allocate the appropriate resources in order to develop and maintain Israel’s human capital.

“Society is measured by the importance of its intellectuals and leaders,” Piron said, “We should do everything we can to make sure that the names of Nobel laureates, Israel Prize laureates, philosophers, intellectuals, writers and leaders of change will dwell on the lips of young people in Israel.”

Nine Israel Prizes were awarded in eight categories: In the field of architecture and design, the prize was given to architect and urban planner Prof. Adam Mazor of the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology; in the field of Earth sciences research and the study of the atmosphere, it was awarded to Prof.
Gideon Dagan; for the study of life sciences, the Israel Prize was given to Tel Aviv University Prof. Nathan Nelson; and Prof. Yosef Kaplan was honored in the category of the study of the history of Israel.

In addition, Prof. Chava Turniansky of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem won the prize for the study of Jewish languages and literature; Prof. Yoram Bilu was honored in the field of sociology and anthropology; and Prof. Nola Chilton in the performing arts category.

The two Israel Prizes for lifetime achievement, which represent a special contribution to Israeli society, were awarded to music scholar Eliyahu Hacohen and late mayor of Ariel, Ron Nachman, whose widow, Dorit Nachman, received the award in his name.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

August 31, 2014
Rioting resumes throughout east Jerusalem Saturday night


Cookie Settings