Kahalani to receive President’s Medal for war heroism

War hero Brig.-Gen. (res.) Avigdor Kahalani will receive this year’s President’s Medal of Distinction.

September 12, 2013 23:25
1 minute read.

AVIGDOR KAHALANI 370. (photo credit: (Knesset.gov.il))


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Brig.-Gen. (res.) Avigdor Kahalani, chairman of the Association for the Wellbeing of Israel’s Soldiers and a recipient of the Medal of Valor for extraordinary heroism in the Yom Kippur War, has been named the key recipient of this year’s President’s Medal of Distinction.

President Shimon Peres, together with two key members of the advisory committee – Yitzhak Navon, Israel’s fifth president, and former Supreme Court president Meir Shamgar – made the announcement Thursday.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

The President’s Medal of Distinction, Israel’s highest civilian award, was introduced by Peres in February of last year. It honors individuals and organizations for unique and significant contribution to Israeli society and civilization in general and to the enhancement of Israel’s global image.

Among its recipients are US President Barack Obama, former US secretary of state Henry Kissinger and former US president Bill Clinton.

New recipients named with Kahalani are Auschwitz survivor and internationally acclaimed novelist and Nobel Prize laureate Elie Wiesel; Hollywood producer Steven Spielberg, whose archives of testimony by Holocaust survivors will serve future generations as the most meaningful and authentic oral history of the period; physicist Dr. Harry Zvi Tabor, recognized as the pioneer of Israel’s solar energy systems; Rabbi Elimelech Firer, who with his vast supply of medical contacts has helped save thousands of lives; Avi Naor, chairman and founder of Or Yarok (Green Light), the association for safer driving that he established after his 12-year-old son Ran was killed in a traffic accident; and a member of Israel’s defense establishment whose name, for security reasons, must remain classified.

Kahalani, born to immigrant parents from Yemen, was a career soldier whose bravery in the Six Day War earned him a Distinguished Service Medal.

Though seriously wounded when his tank caught fire, Kahalani – after months of recuperating – remained in the IDF. During the Yom Kippur War, he commanded the Oz 77th armored battalion on the Golan Heights. That battle proved to be one of the major turning points in the war.

Related Content

August 31, 2014
Rioting resumes throughout east Jerusalem Saturday night