Choosing the New 7 Wonders of Nature

Jerusalem so far not among cities competing to become symbol for peaceful global dialogue.

April 18, 2009 23:13
1 minute read.
Choosing the New 7 Wonders of Nature

Jerusalem 88. (photo credit: )


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

The New7Wonders campaign is calling on people worldwide to crown seven cities as "symbols for peaceful global dialogue." The gala ceremony, the culmination of the second online election in which more than one billion votes are expected, will be the biggest global event of 2011, it said in a press statement issued in Zurich last week. On the homepage, New7Wonders, members and fans can support a city already in the race - or nominate a new one. "As with all N7W campaigns, this vote empowers world citizens of all colors, creeds and classes through direct democracy, allowing them to shape an important world event and share in a peaceful, global initiative," the statement said. "The campaign, following the groundbreaking election of the Official New 7 Wonders of the World declared in 2007 in Lisbon, Portugal, represents another milestone in global participatory democracy." Cities already proposed include Abu Dhabi, Barcelona, Beirut, Cape Town, Doha, Dublin, Geneva, Hanoi, Montreal, Istanbul, Kuala Lumpur, Las Vegas, Lima, Macao, Manila, Monterrey, Montevideo, Puerto Rico, Quebec, Rio de Janeiro, St. Petersburg, Santiago, Seoul, Shanghai, Singapore, Sofia, Sydney, Taipei, Tokyo and Warsaw. So far, no Israeli city has been put forward - not even Jerusalem. Currently, 222 countries, including Israel, are participating in the New7Wonders of Nature campaign. The criteria include a desire to represent global unity and the ability to host a huge international event. The choice of "official host" for the declaration of the New7Wonders of Nature will be based on the following, according to the campaign: n Ability and desire to showcase the greatest event in 2011; n Political and strategic ambition to be at the center of the world; n As with any other major event, standard license and contract terms and conditions; n The passion and interest of the people, the national decision-makers and the media.

Related Content

El Al
August 16, 2014
The Travel Adviser: For El Al, mission accomplished