1st deal signed between Israel, Economic Community of West African States

Foreign Minister Avigdor Lieberman on Wednesday signed the first agreement between Israel and the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) in Abuja, Nigeria. ECOWAS is comprised of fifteen West African states, and three member states - Guinea, Mali and Niger - do not have diplomatic relations with Israel. Jean de Dieu Somda, Commission Vice President, signed the agreement on behalf of ECOWAS. The agreement is for cooperation in the fields of education, agriculture, culture, economic relations and other fields to be agreed upon by the two sides. In addition, Lieberman and Somda signed an agreement between ECOWAS and MASHAV-Israel Center for Economic Cooperation, which states that the two sides will work together to initiate projects, with an emphasis on reducing poverty and preservation and protection of the environment.