EU names 17 Iranians sanctioned over human rights

BRUSSELS/DUBAI - The European Union has imposed sanctions on 17 Iranian officials, including prominent members of the government and the judiciary it says play a key role in serious human rights violations.
Agreed by EU foreign ministers on Friday, the new sanctions list, published on Saturday, includes the minister of information and communication, Reza Taqipour, and the head of Iran's state broadcasting network (IRIB), Ezzatollah Zarghami.
The EU's official journal describes Taqipour as "one of the top officials in charge of censorship and control of internet activities" and outlines IRIB's role in the broadcast of "forced confessions and show trials".
The head of the Iranian judiciary, Sadeq Larijani - brother of Parliamentary Speaker Ali Larijani - is on the list for signing off death sentences, including stoning, floggings, amputations and the pouring of acid into the eyes of the convicted.
The new names have extended the list to a total of 78 Iranians who are subject to asset freezes and travel bans because of their alleged involvement in human rights abuses.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy