Guinea Bissau names new government amid political row

Guinea Bissau's President Jose Mario Vaz on Monday named a new government with the backing of the second-biggest party, weeks after his dismissal of the previous cabinet sparked fears of a return to turmoil in the coup-plagued West African nation.
Vaz sacked then-Prime Minister Domingos Simoes Pereira last month amid a growing row between the men, both members of the ruling PAIGC, that was fed by overlapping duties in Guinea Bissau's semi-presidential system.
The president then named Baciro Dja, formerly minister of presidential affairs, as the new premier.
However, the move was condemned by many PAIGC members, forcing Vaz to seek the support of the PRS, the second-largest party in parliament.
Dja's new cabinet is composed of 15 ministers and 15 secretaries of state, according to the presidential decree naming them. The PRS secured five ministries and five secretary of state posts, along with governorships and ambassadorships as part of the agreement.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy