Legislation C'tee approves Yisrael Beytenu electoral reform

The Ministerial Committee for Legislation approved a controversial Yisrael Beytenu electoral reform bill Monday.
The legislation proposed by Knesset Law, Constitution and Justice Committee chairman David Rotem (Yisrael Beytenu) would increase the election threshold to four percent, limit the number of ministers including the prime minister to 19 and deputy ministers to four.
In addition, the bill would require no-confidence motions to be submitted by at least 61 MKs and to include an alternative candidate for prime minister. If that candidate cannot form a government, the Knesset would not be dissolved.
Rotem’s bill also would extend the amount of time a new government has to pass a budget from 45 to 100 days.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy