New non-permanent members of UN Security Council named

UNITED NATIONS — Germany won a seat on the UN Security Council Tuesday in a heated three-way race, and Portugal claimed the second seat for Western bloc nations on the UN's most powerful body after badly trailing Canada withdrew.
African, Asian and Latin American seats were uncontested so India, South Africa and Colombia easily won on the first ballot in the 192-member General Assembly.
Ten of the Security Council's 15 seats are filled by regional groups for two-year stretches, with five elected each year. The other five seats are occupied by the council's veto-wielding permanent members: Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy