Rivlin, Bennett present 'Israel's Nobel Prize' to eight US scientists and artists

President Reuven Rivlin and Education Minister Naftali Bennett presented five $100,000 awards to seven leading US scientists and one artist by at the Knesset on Sunday.
Bennett is the chairman of the Wolf Foundation, whose awards are considered “Israel’s Nobel Prizes.”
In agriculture, it was awarded to Prof. Linda Saif of the Ohio State University for advancing animal and human health through research in virology and immunology.
In physics, it was shared by Prof. James Bjorken from Stanford University for predicting scaling in deep inelastic scattering, leading to identification of pointlike constituents of nucleons (particles of an atom’s nucleus); and Prof. Robert Kirshner from Harvard University for forging the path to supernova cosmology through his observations and insights. The mathematics prize was awarded to Prof. James Arthur of University of Toronto for his monumental work on the trace formula and his fundamental contributions to the theory of automorphic representations of reductive groups.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy