School strikes to go ahead in 14 towns across country

The Union of Local Authorities was set to strike on Sunday, in protest of government-initiated budget cuts. Kindergartens and schools, except for special education institutions, as well as other municipal services, will be closed in 14 towns across the country, including Ramat Gan, Petah Tikva, Kiryat Motzkin, Kiryat Bialik, Kiryat Ono and Kiryat Melachi. Conversely, eleven cities have announced their intention not to participate in the strike: Jerusalem, Tel Aviv, Haifa, Herzliya, Petah Tikva, Rishon Lezion, Rehovot, Ra'anana, Netanya, Ramle and Hod Hasharon. As part of the planned action on Sunday, hundreds of garbage trucks from across the nation are planning a convoy to the Prime Minister's Office in Jerusalem. Large traffic jams are expected as a result. Channel 2 reported on Saturday night that no negotiations were taking place to prevent the strikes at the present time.