US assumes rotating presidency of UN Security Council

The United States assumed the rotating presidency of the United Nations Security Council on Sunday.
The US assumed the role from the UK, with Azerbaijan scheduled to replaces it in May.
The Council is composed of five permanent members- China, France, Russia, the UK, and the US- as well as ten non-permanent members.
The Council's presidency rotates monthly, with the order being determined alphabetically.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy