US State Dept re-designates countries for violating religious freedom

WASHINGTON - The US State Department said on Thursday it had re-designated 10 countries as "countries of particular concern" under the International Religious Freedom Act for having engaged in or tolerated egregious violations of religious freedom.
Pakistan has also been placed on a special watch list for "severe violations of religious freedom," it said in a statement. The countries were re-designated on Dec. 22.